Town of Pomfret Awarded the 2016 Democracy Cup for Voter Turnout

The Town of Pomfret, Registrars Martha Emilio, Susan Devokaitis, and Town Clerk Cheryl Grist were recently presented with the 2016 Democracy Cup by Secretary of State Denise Merrill.  Pomfret achieved the highest voter turnout percentage in the 2016 election in the small town category with 90.65% of registered voters casting their ballots.

Secretary Merrill and State Senator Tony Guglielmo presented the Democracy Cup and written citation during a short ceremony at the Pomfret Town Hall on Thursday, March 16th.  Secretary Merrill congratulated the Town Clerk, Registrars, and the Town of Pomfret for the hours of work required in running a successful election day and the civic mindedness of the town for turning out in such large numbers.

The Cup is co-sponsored by the East Haddam Civic Association and was created as a way to encourage voter participation in each year’s elections.  Towns with fewer than 5,000 registered voters are considered in the small-town category.  It is a perpetual trophy award and will grace the Pomfret Town Hall for the next two years when it will then be handed off to the 2018 recipient.