DECLARING PERSONAL PROPERTY All persons liable to pay taxes are hereby notified to declare all tangible personal property owned by them on October 1, 2015. Non-residents are required to declare property located in any town for any three months preceding October 1, 2015. Failure to declare by November 2, 2015 as required by law will result in 25% PENALTY assessment.
Local Assessors will mail declaration forms to all property owners previously on record. Failure to receive a form does not negate the requirement to declare. Forms will be available in the Assessor’s Office
NOTE: Real property or Connecticut registered motor vehicles do not need to be declared. Taxable personal property includes: Unregistered motor vehicles, motor vehicles located in Connecticut but registered in another state, horses and ponies, mobile manufactured homes not assessed as real estate, manufacturing machinery and equipment, business furniture and fixtures, farm machinery, farming tools, mechanics tools, electronic data processing equipment, telecommunication equipment, cables conduits, pipes, poles, business expensed supplies and other such as billboards, video games, vending machines, leasehold improvements etc.
VETERANS: who served for more than ninety days during a time of war or have been
disabled must have recorded their honorable discharge with the Town Clerk by October 1, 2015 in order to receive $1,000 assessment exemption. Disable Veterans need to file proof of VA rating with the Assessor to receive an increased exemption.
ADDITIONAL VETERANS EXEMPTION: Increased exemptions are available for those who meet necessary income requirements and the above Veterans criteria. An application along with proof of income must be filed with the Assessor biennially. Filings for this year must be made by October 1, 2015.
ARMED SERVICE MEMBERS may obtain an exemption on one (1) passenger motor vehicle if proof is submitted. See local Assessor.
TOTALLY DISABLED: any person under the age of 65 that has been awarded total disability must apply by January 31, 2016 in order to receive a $1,000 assessment exemption. Applicants must furnish proof of award.
FARMER MACHINERY & EQUIPMENT: Eligible farmers must file the notarized exemption application on or before November 2, 2015.
MANUFACTURING MACHINERY AND EQUIPMENT installed in a manufacturing facility and used in the manufacturing process may be allowed exemption. Complete and file the MME Exemption Application by November 2, 2015.
NEW COMMERCIAL TRUCKS with a gross vehicle rating in excess of 26,000 lbs. should check with the Assessor’s office for tax exemption eligibility. Application must be completed and filed with the assessor by November 2, 2015.
LAND CLASSIFICATION: Persons seeking to classify land under Farm, Forest or Open Space, for the first time, must file between September 1, 2015 and December 30, 2015 with the Assessor. Persons seeking to classify for Forest must also have a complete certified forester’s report done by October 1st. Only changes to the original filing (ownership, use or acreage) need to be reported annually.
Windham Area Assessor’s Association
- Assessment Data Vision Appraisal
- Assessors Notice to Taxpayers
- Board of Assessment Appeals
- GIS Maps NECCOG
- Mill Rate History (Current Combined Mill Rate: 26.43)
- PA490 Farm, Forest & Open Space
- Renter's Rebate Program
- Revaluation Questions & Answers
- Sales Summary
- Supplemental Motor Vehicle Tax Bill
- Tax Exemptions & Programs
- Top 10 Taxpayers
- Vacant Land Sales Summary